Post a reply

General snooker rules questions

Postby TonyEnnis

Hi, first post, I'm new to the game.

I have some newb rules questions:

1a). Is there a difference between being unable to hit a red ball directly, and not? I know the former case is a snooker, but does this mean different rules are in place?
1b) same question, but for a colored ball.

2. I can directly shoot a red ball. I miss it anyway.

a) Is this a 4 point foul?
b) Can my opponent elect that I shoot it again?
c) Can my opponent shoot the cue ball where it ends up?
d) Can my opponent put the cue ball in the D?

3. If I missed the red ball but struck the pink, how many points is my opponent awarded? Sometimes this seems to be 4, sometimes 6.

4. What if I miss the red, strike the pink, and then the cue ball rolls into a pocket?

5. Colored balls are on. I call blue but strike the yellow first. What's the penalty, and what are my opponent's choices (similar to question 2b-2d)

6. All the reds are off the table and I am shooting the green. I miss the green (4 pt foul) but the cue ball lands in such a way to snooker my opponent. Since I fouled, can my opponent required that the shot be re-done? Or can my opponent claim a free ball? Are there other options?

These things didn't seem that important to me... then I started playing with a friend. Since we're just awful, these things happen all the time!

Thanks kindly for your responses.
Last edited by TonyEnnis on 26 Oct 2016, edited 1 time in total.

Re: General snooker rules questions

Postby TonyEnnis

Since no one has replied, I'll answer my questions using rules from the wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rules_of_snooker

Please correct me where I err.

1a) There is no difference. A foul is a foul.
1b) Same as 1a
2a) Yes
2b) I don't know
2c) Yes
2d) Only if the cue balls falls in a pocket