sootywooty wrote:Hi! again All! I had a game yesterday when my opponent was 7pts behind after i had potted the blue and pink, and then i missed the black all together and went in one of the top pockets because of mainly close to the cush cueing. So now the scores are level and then one of my mates said the black is not respotted and stays put because was not an in off and i lost because my opponent potted the black which was very close to the pocket.
What is the correct rule on this please! Thanks for any help.
Hi Sootywooty. I will need to jump in here to make a correction to this scenario. I am sorry to say that in your frame, in fact you decided to proceed incorrectly. The Black should have been re-spotted and the next stroke played from in hand decided by a coin flip, not your opponent's decision (despite the fact that it was you who fouled).
It would be best if you go back and read this post:viewtopic.php?f=468&t=6861#p443882
for a full explanation, but to summarize, the Rule states clearly, ""When Black is the only object ball remaining on the table, the first score or foul ends the frame..." and that ALWAYS applies, frame is over. At least the regulation frame is over, but in your case the score is drawn after the foul so it is a special circumstance. What happens in this special circumstance is sort of a "mini-frame", overtime if you will, and that is the reason why the Black must be re-spotted and a coin must be tossed to decide the "breakoff stroke".
So one of your friends explained, "...one of my mates said the black is not respotted and stays put because was not an in off" and even BadSnookerPlayer, a very knowledgeable player, said, "It is only a re-spot if the black is potted to tie the frame." So it is perfectly understandable to be confused by this Rule. So let me clarify in a general sense.
By their nature, the Rules of Snooker attempt to be all-encompassing meaning that the Rules apply always to all players in all circumstances no matter what. Occasionally, the Rule may have an exception. (For instance, at least one foot must be touching the floor when a stroke is played............except in the case that you are a wheelchair player. That is in the Rules.)
So this business about "B-b-b-but the Black wasn't potted so it cannot be re-spotted" simply is not true. Look at it this way...every stroke which is ever played on a Snooker table can be classified in one of only two possible ways: 1) Fair stroke or 2) Foul stroke. That is it. HOW a foul occurs does not matter in the slightest. So the rule says that when the Black is the only object ball remaining on the table, the frame is over as soon as the Black is either potted on a fair stroke OR when a foul stroke occurs (a foul of any sort). When the game is over and the state of the scores happens to be that they are drawn level, then we proceed to the standard "tie-breaking" measure of the mini Black Ball frame. Re-spot and coin flip to decide.
I hope you didn't have a wager on your frame or any significance to it as the frame actually proceeded incorrectly and so the result really ought to be nullified. If you would like to verify the exact Rule that applies here, it is Section 3., Rule 4. (a) and (b).